Blog post

Compare Bank Fees, Savings Rates and Loan Costs Across Ethiopia’s Banks and Wallets

What will your savings earn? What does a transfer really cost? How expensive is that digital loan? 360 Data’s price comparison answers these questions in birr, for your amount, across Ethiopia’s banks, microfinance institutions and mobile wallets.
61
Providers Covered
Banks, MFIs, mobile money operators and a payment switch.
5,285
Price Records
Fees, rates and charges collected from public sources.
4
Ways to Compare
Save, everyday fees, borrow and money from abroad.
0
Paid Placements
No ads or sponsorships. The ranking is decided by price alone.

Why Comparing Bank Prices in Ethiopia Is So Hard

Every Ethiopian bank, microfinance institution and mobile wallet publishes its own tariff: fees for transfers and ATM withdrawals, interest rates for savings, and charges for digital loans. But they are published in very different ways. Some are PDF tariff books, some are product pages, some are social-media posts, and some are scanned images.

Even when you find them, the numbers are hard to compare. One bank quotes a flat fee, another a percentage with a floor and a cap. One excludes VAT, another does not. One quotes a daily loan rate, another a monthly one. The question customers actually care about, “How many birr will this cost me?”, is almost never answered directly.

This matters more than ever. The National Bank of Ethiopia abolished the 7% minimum savings rate in December 2025, so deposit rates can now differ widely between providers. Many savings pages still quote the old minimum, so checking the current rate matters more.

Introducing Price Comparison on 360 Data

360 Data Price Comparison is a free, independent tool that collects published prices from 61 Ethiopian providers, turns them into birr amounts for your scenario, and ranks the results fairly. Every price links to the public source it came from.

How the Comparison Works Your scenario in, birr amounts out
1. Set Your Scenario Amount, period, service, and who is saving or borrowing 2. Calculate in Birr Published formulas apply flat fees, percentages, floors, caps and tax 3. Ranked, With Sources Cheapest or best-paying first, each result linked to its source

1. Save: How Many Birr Will Your Savings Earn?

Choose an amount (ETB 10,000 to 500,000) and a period (3 to 24 months). The Save comparison shows how many birr each provider’s published rate would pay you after the 5% withholding tax on interest. You can narrow the results to products for women, youth and students, children, older people, the diaspora or savings groups (iqqub and iddir), or show interest-free products only.

For example, here is what ETB 50,000 saved for 12 months earns at a selection of providers in the current snapshot. The platform found 11 priceable offers ranging from ETB 3,325 to ETB 7,125:

What ETB 50,000 Earns in 12 Months After 5% withholding tax · selected offers
ETB 0 ETB 2,500 ETB 5,000 ETB 7,500 #1 Nisir Microfinance — Time deposit ETB 5,700–7,125 #2 Tsehay Bank — Diamond Saving ETB 4,513–4,750 #3 Global Bank — Golden Age Savings ETB 4,275 =5 Siinqee Bank — Handhura Saving ETB 3,800 =8 Commercial Bank of Ethiopia — Wedding Saving ETB 3,563 #10 Dashen Bank — Goal Saving ETB 3,444–3,800 #11 Goh Betoch Bank — Regular Saving ETB 3,325

Light blue shows the upper end where a provider publishes a rate range. Rank numbers match the full ranking on 360 Data, where tied results share a position.

The gap is large. On the same ETB 50,000, the top of the best-paying range (ETB 7,125) is more than double the lowest-ranked offer (ETB 3,325). That is the kind of difference that is invisible until the prices are put side by side.

2. Everyday Fees: What Does a Transfer Really Cost?

The Everyday fees comparison covers transfers, ATM cash withdrawals, wallet services, payments and agent cash-out. Enter an amount and see the fee in birr at each provider. You can also switch to monthly usage to see what your regular transactions add up to.

For a ETB 5,000 transfer to another bank, the priceable offers range from ETB 20 to ETB 25:

Rank Provider & Product Fee Published Basis
=1Ahadu Bank — Inter-bank transfer (USSD/mobile/internet)ETB 200.40% / 0.24% by amount
=1Global Bank Ethiopia — P2P transfer via EthSwitchETB 200.40% of amount
=1Omo Bank — Mobile P2P transfer to other bankETB 200.40% of amount (excl. VAT)
=4Addis Bank — Mobile app / USSD / internet bankingETB 250.50% of amount (excl. VAT)
=4Bunna Bank — Mobile/internet transfer to other bankETB 250.50% of amount
=4Siinqee Bank — Internet banking transfer to other bankETB 250.50% of amount

Prices quoted excluding VAT are clearly flagged and are not grossed up. For providers whose tariff cannot be priced for your amount, the tool explains why instead of quietly leaving them out.

3. Borrow: What Does a Digital Loan Actually Cost?

Digital loans are fast, but their cost is often shown as a small daily or monthly percentage that hides the annual cost. The Borrow comparison turns those rates into a birr charge and an annualised cost (APR) illustration, and flags anything over 100% a year.

For ETB 10,000 borrowed for 30 days, the eight priceable digital-loan offers range from ETB 375 to ETB 2,850 in charges:

Rank Provider & Product Charge on ETB 10,000 APR Illustration
#1Cooperative Bank of Oromia — Michu Kiyya Formal (women)ETB 37557% a year
#2Nisir Microfinance — Salary advance loanETB 640–940113%–198% a year
#3Commercial Bank of Ethiopia — Fast Loan (CBE Mobile Banking)ETB 700–1,600128%–508% a year
#4telebirr (Ethio telecom) — telebirr Mela (monthly)ETB 1,200–2,700297%–1,732% a year

The Borrow section also covers interest-free financing, showing Murabaha markups as principal plus markup (for example, a 23% markup on ETB 100,000 gives ETB 123,000), and lists published loan rates as they are published, without guessing a repayment schedule the provider has not disclosed.

4. Money From Abroad: Receiving Fees

For families receiving remittances, the Money from abroad view compares the published fees for receiving international transfers at banks and mobile wallets. The platform is also clear about what it cannot show: providers do not publish the exchange rates they apply, so the fee alone does not tell you how many birr your family will receive.

Browse Every Provider’s Price List

The Providers directory lists all 61 institutions (27 commercial banks, 4 interest-free banks, 1 development bank, 21 microfinance institutions, 7 mobile money operators and 1 payment switch). For each one it shows how many prices are published and how many are not disclosed. Missing prices are counted and shown, never hidden.

Fair by Design

A price comparison is only useful if people can trust it. The methodology is published in full:

  • No paid placement: No advertising or payment affects the order. Fees are ranked lowest first and earnings highest first.
  • Honest ties: Results within 0.5% of each other are labelled “About the same”, share a position, and are listed alphabetically.
  • A missing price is never zero: If a tariff cannot be priced for your amount, the provider is not ranked as “free”. The tool tells you why it was left out.
  • Transparent formulas: For example, ETB 50,000 at 7% for 365 days earns ETB 3,500 gross and ETB 3,325 after withholding tax.
  • Freshness and confidence flags: Prices older than 365 days, unverified records and prices excluding VAT are all marked.

Who It Helps

Savers
See which accounts pay the most birr on your deposit, including products for women, youth, children, the diaspora and savings groups.
Everyday Users & Businesses
Know what transfers, withdrawals and wallet payments cost before you send, and what they add up to each month.
Borrowers
See the real birr cost and annualised rate of a digital loan before you accept it.

“Every provider publishes its prices. Now customers can see them side by side, in birr, before they choose.”

Try It Now

The price comparison is free at data.360ground.com/compare/prices. Choose what you want to do (save, pay, borrow or receive money from abroad), enter your amount, and see the results in seconds.

It is part of 360 Data, 360Ground’s free platform for Ethiopian financial data and public disclosures. If your organisation needs a data platform, comparison tool or analytics solution of its own, talk to our team.

Figures in this article come from the 360 Data research snapshot collected from public sources on 14 Meskerem 2019 (24 September 2026). Prices are not confirmed by the institutions and can change. Always check with the provider before you decide. This is not financial advice.

Sources & References

Share article

Related Blog